How much does a Ticket cost for running a red light?

In the United States, a ticket for running the red light costs $ 50 to $ 500, depending on the jurisdiction. For example, in some California jurisdictions, the fee for running a red light is $ 500, and that includes a refresher course at a driving school so you don’t make the same mistake again.

It is not cheap at all and that is why when driving you have to be very careful since nobody wants to pay so much money, for example in other cities the average cost of the ticket for running a red light is $ 200.

While it is true, several cities are considering reducing the fine for running red lights. Keep in mind that in some states such as Massachusetts where the fine is between $ 50 and $ 100, it is also considered a moving violation and this means that you will have a six-year surcharge on your auto insurance, which will increase the cost considerably. of the ticket.

Here is a list of penalties for running a red light.

Status Sanction

AlabamaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is typically between $ 100 – $ 150 (and three points). A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 100 (without points).
AlaskaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light varies, but can run up to $ 300 in Alaska and can result in six points against your license.
ArizonaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 250 (2 points) in Arizona. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 165 (2 points).
ArkansasThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 130 to $ 185 in Arkansas.
CaliforniaThe fine for running a stop sign is approximately $ 250 and for running a red light is approximately $ 450 to $ 500 (and one point).
ColoradoThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 100 (4 points) in Colorado. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 75 (without points).
ConnecticutMost traffic violations in Connecticut are classified as violations, requiring the payment of a fine ranging from $ 50 to $ 200.
DelawareThe fine for running a stop sign or red light ranges from $ 75 to $ 230 in Delaware. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 110.
DCThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 150 (2 points) in the District of Columbia. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 150 (without points).
FloridaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 125 (3 points) in Florida. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 158 (without points).
GeorgiaThe maximum fine for running a red light is approximately $ 1,000 (3 points) in Georgia. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 70 (without points).
HawaiiThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 75 to $ 100 in Hawaii.
IdahoThe fine for running a stop sign or red light ranges from $ 10 to $ 150 in Idaho.
IllinoisThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 100 up to a maximum of $ 500 and 20 points on your Illinois license. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 100 (without points).
IndianaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is at least $ 100 (and 6 points) in Indiana.
IowaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light varies widely in Iowa and is determined on a case-by-case basis. A red light camera ticket also varies and can go up to $ 195 (Sioux City).
KansasThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 115 – $ 175 in Kansas.
KentuckyThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 10 – $ 100 (3 points) in Kentucky.
LouisianaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is between $ 175 to $ 350 in Louisiana. A red light camera ticket costs approximately $ 100 to $ 140.
MaineThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 25- $ 500 (up to 4 points) in Maine.
MarylandThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 110 to $ 500 (2 points) in Maryland.
MassachusettsThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 100 to $ 240 (2 points) in Massachusetts.
MichiganThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 100 to $ 150 in Michigan.
MinnesotaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 128 in Minnesota.
MississippiThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 225 in Mississippi.
MissouriThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 125 to $ 135.
MountainMost moving violations in Montana are classified as violations, requiring the payment of a fine ranging from $ 20 to $ 1,000.
NebraskaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 100 to $ 300 (and fines can be doubled if the violation occurred in a school zone) in Nebraska

NevadaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can be up to $ 1000 (4 points) in Nevada.
New HampshireMost traffic violations in New Hampshire are classified as violations, requiring the payment of a fine of up to $ 350.
New JerseyThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 50 to $ 200 (2 points) in New Jersey. The fine is approximately $ 85 for red light cameras.
New MexicoThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 70 to $ 200 in New Mexico.
New YorkThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 100 to $ 300 (3 points) if it occurred in a city with more than a population of one million, $ 50 to $ 100 if located in other parts of New York. The fine for red light tickets is $ 50.
North CarolinaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is typically $ 100 (3 points) in North Carolina. (It costs $ 75 and you have no points for a red camera ticket.)
North DakotaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light was $ 20 (as of 2011) in North Dakota.
OhioThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 100 to $ 200 in Ohio.
OklahomaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is typically $ 100 in Oklahoma.
OregonThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is a maximum of $ 300 in Oregon.
PennsylvaniaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is a minimum of $ 25 – $ 100 fine (3 points). Red light tickets cost a maximum of $ 100 and have no points.
Rhode IslandThe fine for running a stop sign or red light starts at $ 75 in Rhode Island.
South CarolinaMost traffic violations in South Carolina are classified as violations, requiring the payment of a fine ranging from $ 250 to $ 1,500.
South DakotaThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 75 to $ 100 in South Dakota.
TennesseeThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can start at $ 50 in Tennessee.
TexasThe maximum fine for running a stop sign or red light is $ 200 ($ 75 for red light camera tickets) in Texas.
UtahThe maximum fine for running a stop sign or red light is $ 1,000 in Utah.
VermontThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 200 in Vermont.
VirginiaThe fine for running a stop or red sign is $ 200 – 350 (4 points) and $ 50 for a red camera ticket in Virginia.
WashingtonThe maximum fine for running a stop sign or red light is $ 250 in Washington.
West VirginiaThe fine for running a red light is approximately $ 75 in West Virginia.
WisconsinThe fine for running a stop sign or red light is approximately $ 80 in Wisconsin.
WyomingThe fine for running a stop sign or red light can range from $ 110 to $ 150 in Wyoming.

Little by little we will update the list by adding more States.

We hope the information is useful to you and the next time you are driving, pay close attention to your path to prevent running a red light.

Leave a Reply