How to obtain a handyman license in Florida

The process for obtaining a handyman license in Florida is different than it is in other states. The State of Florida requires you to also have a business license, since you are considered a professional operator.

In order to obtain the license, you must demonstrate your commercial intention and experience.

Steps to obtain a Florida handyman license

These are the steps you should follow if you want to obtain a handyman license in Florida:

Step 1: Verify all the licensing requirements. You can do this through the State Board of Contractors. The National Contractor License Service can also provide you with information on what the requirements are.

Step 2: Find out if your state requires this type of license. A professional association is a good resource for you to turn to. They should be able help you and answer any questions you might have.

Step 3: To start a maintenance service in Florida, all you need is a business license. However, if you use a trade name such as “Fictitious Name, the handyman”, you must have a DBA or create an LLC.

Also, as an independent contractor, you will need to obtain an EIN for any job you perform for more than $600 annually.

Step 4: To get training and obtain your license, you must have credentials in the area of maintenance work.

You can attend classes at a community college or a local trade school. They usually offer training courses for maintenance staff.

Step 5: It is necessary for you to register for the classes and take the corresponding exam.

To do this, find out the dates and locations with the State Contractor Board. Make sure to take enough time to study and prepare for the exam.

Step 6: The National Contractor Licensing Service and professional handyman associations have programs available to help you prepare for your exam.

It is important to study the Florida State Codes and any other reading material that is provided to you by the State Contractor Board.

Step 7: Complete the license application, which can be submitted once you pass the exam. Please note that test scores are valid for one year, so it is not recommended that, after passing the exam, you do not wait too long to apply for your license.

Complete the forms required by the State Contractor Board and attach your resume, proof of insurance, and any other requested documentation.

Step 8: An insurance is required by the State of Florida. It is recommended that you get a liability insurance.

Requirements for a Florida handyman license

There is a set of requirements that have to be met before

you can obtain your Florida handyman license.

You must:

  1. Pass all modules of the exam.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Meet all experience and educational requirements.
  4. Prove that you have good moral character.
  5. Pay all fees required to obtain the license.
  6. Obtain coverage for work-related accidents.
  7. Show that you have financial responsibility.

Tips for getting your handyman license in Florida

Before registering for any courses and taking the exam, make sure you understand all the requirements for the license. If you pass the exam and then find out that you do not meet any of the requirements, you will not be able to obtain your license.

Keep in mind that Florida requires all maintenance personnel to have a business license. So, the first thing you should do is get a business license with a business name and a tax identification number. This license can be obtained from the Florida Department of Revenue.

To get a contractor license, you must demonstrate that you have passed the apprenticeship program or that you have the necessary experience to qualify.

When you submit your application to the Licensing Board, they determine if you have the qualifications to take the exam. The review process is conducted by the Licensing Board through interviews and verification of your application and background.

Where to get a handyman license

Whether you’ll work by yourself or hire employees as part of your business, you will need a license that is granted by the State. Once you get this license, your business will have more credibility and it will make it easier for potential customers to trust your skills and the quality of your work.

Contact the Board of Contractors to learn about the requirements and how to apply for your license. Obtaining it requires experience and knowledge.

Then, get a license application from any of the maintenance offices and carefully read the instructions before completing it.

Additional documentation will probably need to be attached to the application, such as proof of your financial status, client reference certificates, and your resume.

Submit the application along with all documentation and the appropriate fee to the offices designated by the Board and you will be informed that there is an exam that you have to take.

The Board will usually review your application to determine eligibility. Once the review process is over, you will receive a letter confirming that you are eligible to take the exam, with the registration form and ID number.

They should also tell you more about the exam format and where you can take it.

The exam

The exam has two parts: The first part is related to business rules and the right of examination, and the second part has to do with to the skills you need to obtain the certificate, i.e., everything that is operational and necessary for you to do your work from your own experience and the knowledge you will acquire in the course.

All the detailed information about the exam will be presented to you in the letter of eligibility, and in the general meeting you will also be offered relevant material for purchase.

 

Leave a Reply