It’s not the same to drive a small car than a large truck, therefore is not the same having a class C permission than having a class A permission. The Commercial driver’s license (CDL) is a document that allows you to legally drive a certain kind of motor vehicles.

A commercial driver’s license is proof that you are well prepared to drive a large vehicle, is also a legal requirement for commercial drivers. For example, if you want work for a company as a heavy truck driver you will need a class A license.

We will talk more about the licenses, the requirements and processes to have them here, keep reading.

Requirements to get a CDL in Texas

First, you will need to have your Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP), which is a license that allows you to operate a vehicle to train. Then, after you have held your CLP for 14 days, go to any driver license office and complete the CDL application form.

If you have had your CLP for 14 days, have your identification and social security number you have all the documentation needed. You will have to pay a fee for the application for the CDL.

How do you get a commercial driver’s license in Texas?

After you have all of the requirements mentioned above, you will have to start all of the process to obtain your license in the driver license office. Of course remember that you must be over 18 to apply for any license.

The different kinds of license in the U.S

There are three types of licenses, that allows you to drive different vehicles in different conditions:

Class C: It’s a license that allows you to legally drive any vehicle with up to 23 passengers including the driver or does not exceed the 26.000 pounds in weight. Which means you can drive small vans to transport people, depending the kind of charge the law may change.

Class B: This license allows you to drive any vehicle with up to 24 people including the driver, and towing other vehicles that does not exceed the 10.000 pounds in weight. Which means you can drive bigger buses and towing trucks, motor homes, and more.

Class A: It’s a license that allows you to drive pretty much any commercial vehicle, this is the CDL with the highest rank of all. This will allow you to drive any vehicle up to 26.000 pounds of weight. Which means you can operate with trucks, buses, towing trucks, tankers, flatbeds, and more.

What requires a CDL in Texas?

Exactly the same laws and requirements to get CDL apply here, the only thing is that Texas has some extra measures for drivers. For example, you need to have a valid Texas driver license, and your driver record needs to be completely clean.

We could say that simply the law in Texas is stricter.

What you will need a commercial driver’s license in Texas for?

https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/how-apply-texas-driver-license

If you want to drive in certain companies you will need to have the correct license, and is a very useful document. Not everyone is a driver with a class A license, and that could even be a capital if you know how to exploit it.

If you have a class A driver license you can ask for work as a truck driver in any company, which is probably of your interest. Not to mention that is always convenient to be able to drive anything you want at the time you want legally.

However, if you are not thinking about working as a driver a class C license will be enough for your entire life. There is people who never takes the class A license, simply because they never need it.

But if you are a driver by profession you should definitely get a higher rank CDL. Even if you don’t really need it now, that will sum up in your curriculum, and will be ready for whenever you need it.

What can disqualify you from getting a CDL in Texas?

Actually, having any registered driving infraction will be enough to take away the right to get a CDL from you. Depending the offense, you can also be disqualified temporarily from the CDL, some of those infractions are:

  • Alcohol incidents or leaving an accident scene where you are involved will disqualify you for one year or lifetime
  • Committing a crime while operating a placarded vehicle will get you disqualified for CDL for one year or lifetime.
  • Traffic offenses between 30 and 120 days.
  • Highway crossing offenses will disqualify you for 30 days or even three years depending the grade of the offense.
  • And using a vehicle for a felony will have you disqualified for CDL forever.

What will I see in the CDL exam?

Approving the CDL exam is one of the requirements to obtain the commercial driver license. It’s a written test that consists in at least 100 questions regarding driving rules with multiple choices.

Don’t underestimate the CDL test, especially for the higher classes, you will need to study quite some time to approve. Of course, the driving license office will provide you with a handbook with all of the rules that you will have to study.

You should take it as a really hard exam for university, we also recommend you to look for some guides online. Sounds easy, but the handbook is a pretty thick one to study, make sure to take some notes and don’t leave it for the last moment.

How much is a CDL license in Texas?

It will depend on your condition:

  • If you are between 18 and 84 years old the application fee is 33$ for a new license or renewal.
  • If you are under 18 it will be 16$ç
  • If you are older than 84 years old the fee will be 9$ for a new license or renewal
  • If the license is lost, it will be 11$ for getting it again
  • Finally, if you are a disabled veteran there is no fee

More about: https://www.dps.texas.gov/


Texas Driver’s License Requirements – (Cars and CDL)

Do you want to get your Texas license? But you do not know what the requirements are, because if you intend to drive your car you need to have your license, because both in Texas and in other U.S. states, the license is essential for you to drive your car legally.

This is why below you will know what are those requirements that you must meet, for CDL and DMV and of course as you will have to take an exam to obtain it, you will also have the information you need, so you should keep reading…

How to get the texas license

You can be a new resident, a first-time driver or a non-citizen and you’ll always need your Texas DMV vehicle registration, but keep these requirements in mind:

  • If you have just arrived in Texas you must obtain your driver’s license within 90 days of arrival because after that time if you have a license from another country or another state it is not valid for you to drive in Texas.
  • If you are a new resident of Texas you must obtain your driver’s license within 90 days of arrival because after that time if you have a license from another country or another state it is not valid for you to drive in Texas.
  • If you are a new resident, you do not need to take the test if you have a valid license and it has not expired.
  • You will also not be required to take the driving test if you have a license from another U.S. state, Germany, South Korea, Canada or France.
  • If you have a valid driver’s license from another U.S. state, Germany, South Korea, Canada or France.
  • If you have a license from the above countries and you are a learner or beginner and you want that license to become a Texas license you must take the road test but you do not need to take the knowledge test.
  • If you are 18 years of age or older, you must take the knowledge test.
  • If you are 18 years of age or older and are applying for a license for the first time you are required to have a learner’s license for the practice driving test.

Texas driver’s license requirements for learner

The requirements for obtaining a texas license are as follows:

Texas driver’s license requirements

  • You must be at least 15 years of age.
  • You must be at least 15 years of age.
  • You must have a texas license.
  • You must attend the driver’s education course and pass.
  • You must attend the driver’s education course and pass.
  • You must go to the Texas licensing office that applies to you.
  • You must attend and pass the driver education course.
  • You must attend and pass the driver education course.
  • You must complete form DL-14A, which is the application for a driver’s license.
  • You must submit your driver’s license application.
  • You must submit your Social Security Number, proof of your residency and proof that you are enrolled in school or have completed school.
  • You must pass Driver’s License Application.
  • You must pass the written learner’s permit examination.
  • You must pass the written learner’s permit examination.
  • You must pay $16.00 as a learner’s permit fee.

How to obtain the Texas learner’s permit

  • You will have completed driver’s education to then take the written test that will result in you obtaining your learner’s license unless you completed it when you attended and passed the driver’s education course.
  • You will apply for your learner’s permit by going in person with your parent or legal guardian to sign the paperwork.
  • You will present your proof of identity.
  • You will present your proof of identity.
  • You will present your proof of identity.
  • You will present your valid U.S. passport, certificate of naturalization or citizenship, birth certificate or original or certified birth certificate.
  • You will present two valid U.S. passports, certificate of naturalization or citizenship, birth certificate or original or certified birth certificate.
  • You will submit two documents that will prove your residency such as transcript of records, health card or report card.
  • You will submit two documents that will prove your residency such as transcript of records, health card or report card.
  • Submit proof of your social security number.
  • Submit your high school diploma or GED.
  • Complete and submit your high school diploma or GED.
  • Complete and submit a driver’s license application signed by a parent or guardian.
  • Submit a driver’s license application signed by a parent or guardian.
  • Submit the driver’s education forms as appropriate.
  • You will pay $16.00 for the learner’s license fee.

Non-citizen texas license requirements

If you are a non-citizen you must meet the following requirement:

To obtain it you must demonstrate legal presence in the United States by presenting documents according to your status.

Different types of texas licenses

Texas has several different types of licenses such as:

  1. Class C license for you to drive trucks, passenger vehicles and non-commercial vehicles weighing less than 26001 pounds.

2.Non-commercial A license that allows you to drive vehicles whose gross vehicle weight does not exceed 26000 pounds, allows you to tow vehicles weighing less than 10000 pounds or agricultural vehicles with a toll of less than 20000 pounds and even allows you to drive buses with a capacity of 24 or more passengers.

Requirements for CDL in Spanish Texas

What you need to know about CDL in Spanish Texas, is about the commercial driver’s license, because if you want to drive a commercial vehicle you can do it lethally in Texas only with this type of license since a regular one does not authorize you, for this you must comply with the following requirements:

  • You must be at least 21 years of age
  • Prior to obtaining the cdl you must have a valid driver’s license.
  • You must have a valid driver’s license.
  • You must have been driving with a regular license for at least one year prior to submitting your cdl application.
  • You must provide your current driver’s license.
  • You will provide your social security card.

How to obtain the CDL in Spanish Texas

To obtain the CDL in Spanish texas, follow these steps:

  • You will call or visit the local driver’s license office that offers cdl testing.
  • The clerk will need to verify your identity, so you will show them your insurance card and driver’s license.
  • You will call or visit the local driver’s office that offers cdl testing.
  • If you have a commercial vehicle, you will show proof of insurance and your registration.
  • Depending on the type of cdl you need, requirements may include English language, a physical fitness test and good eyesight.
  • According to the type of cdl you need, requirements may include English language, a physical fitness test and good eyesight.
  • Apply for the cdl license form depending on whether you require class A, class B or class C.
  • You must pass the cdl license form.
  • You must pass the written and vision test, which is a knowledge test, for which you can download a copy by going to the Texas Department of Safety website.
  • Take the test drive with a commercial vehicle of the same class you are applying for, you can do this at a Texas agency.
  • You can take the test drive with a commercial vehicle of the same class you are applying for.
  • You must pay the fee for the new commercial license after you have passed all the tests, you will be photographed and fingerprinted.

What DMV Texas in Spanish is for

In dmv texas in Spanish allows you to study online all the questions for your driving test. You simply choose the test and then study the questions and answers from your iPhone, Tablet or computer.

What is the driver license texas spanish

The driver license texas español has an expiration date, so before it expires you must renew your license with the DPS so you can continue to drive legally

You can renew your license in person, by mail, by phone or online

How is the cdl exam in spanish in texas

As examples of the spanish cdl exam questions in texas, are the following:

  • If you find an injured person, you should:
  • Mobilize them if you notice they are in traffic or in danger, put pressure on any wounds, keep the person warm, or all of the above answers are correct. Evidently all of the above are correct.
  • What emergency items do you need to have in your car?
  • Spare fuses, fire extinguisher, warning triangles or first aid kit. The correct answer is First-aid kit.
  • Can you help a drinker with fresh air and a coffee? True or False. The answer is False.

How to get a driver’s license in texas for undocumented immigrants

If you want to know if you can get your driver’s license in texas for undocumented.  The answer is as simple as you will not be able to get it, as the Texas Department of Public Safety will ask for identification, Texas residency, your social security number, your passport and bill in your name with your Texas address.

If you do not meet these requirements, you will not be able to get your driver’s license.

Artículo anteriorRequisitos para obtener licencia para conducir en texas – (Autos y CDL)
Artículo siguienteBloomberg español: Todo lo que necesitas saber sobre el canal financiero

Dejar una respuesta

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here